The Foundation is pleased to announce the 2012 recipients of the Donna Swartzfager Memorial Award. The award was established through the creation of the Donna Swartzfager Memorial Fund in 2010 after the unexpected passing of Donna Swartzfager, the beloved Director of Medical Staff Services. The Fund serves as a living memorial to Donna and provides support for the professional continuing education, training and certification of EJGH team members and current EJGH physician office staff.

The monetary awards are distributed through a competitive application process that is directed by Donna's family, and two recent past Chiefs of Staff - Dr. Stan Bleich and Dr. Richard Corales, both of whom worked closely with Donna and wish to carry on her legacy of dedication to the physicians and staff of East Jefferson General Hospital.

The following recipients were announced at the June 14 Medical Staff Meeting:

  • Eunice Benson, RN 5 West: Masters, Nurse Practitioner
  • Hang Nguyen, Medical Staff Services: Continuing Education and Certification
  • Jenee Nguyen, RN 5 West: Masters of Science in Nursing

Applications for the 2013 award will be accepted in Spring 2013. For information about the application guidelines, click here.

Photo Gallery

Click photo for larger image.

Donna Swartzfager Memorial Award Donna Swartzfager Memorial Award Donna Swartzfager Memorial Award Donna Swartzfager Memorial Award