On February 5, The 4th Annual Donna Swartzfager Memorial Fund Awards were announced. The Donna Swartzfager Fund provides financial awards to EJGH team members seeking higher education, professional development growth and certifications. This semi-endowed fund is a donor directed fund that is managed through the investments and Investment Committee of The Foundation.

The fund was created in 2010 after the sudden passing of then Medical Staff Director Donna Swartzfager from heart disease. Medical staff leadership and Donna’s family – husband Ken, siblings Ronnie Zarba and Carol McDaniel and children Kelly and Kyle -created and oversee the disbursements of the fund, which serves as a living memorial to honor the service, dedication and guidance Donna provided to the medical staff and team members during her long tenure at EJGH.


2014 Award Recipients

Heather Abadie: Labor and Delivery, Staff/Charge Nurse, Master of Nursing – Nurse Educator

Claire Biedenharn: Pastoral Care, Critical Care Chaplain, Doctor of Ministry                                         

Shandreka Cummings: Patient Transport, Courier, Nursing Degree

Edwina Odom: Patient Financial Services, Revenue Cycle Supervisor, Revenue Cycle Specialist Certification

Jennifer Russell: Emergency Department, RN/Charge Nurse, Bachelors of Science in Nursing

Ashley Loupe Serigne: Radiation Oncology, Radiation Therapist, Bachelors in Health Science and Administration

Janis Sita: Corporate Education, AHA Coordinator/Nurse Educator, Nursing Professional Development Certification